Author Topic: Nikon D2H  (Read 6442 times)

PKS

• NG Member
  • You ARE NikonGear
Nikon D2H
« on: January 06, 2017, 03:05:56 »
A few months into my photography endeavor so an amateur in every sense. I have been using a Nikkormat FTN as my first camera with BW film. I just purchased a Nikon D2h in near mint condition as my first digital camera.

A couple of questions for those who have used this machine. I know its old. The files are small and I am not a professional nor am I savvy with software or computers. There are many menu options…. I have set it up and kept default settings. Using much like my Nikkormat. Adjust ISO, Shutter and Aperture. Keeping on auto white balance for now.

What affect will the in camera settings have on a jpeg file? Same as a raw file? I know a raw file can be processed where a jpeg is essentially processed in camera. So…adjusting the in camera setting will have no affect on a raw file?

Lastly for now. I have 14 days to play with this camera before I can return it. I like the feel of it in my hands and it is incredibly responsive. However, it has an ERR message after the first shutter actuation. Seems after a bit of online research, this is common for this model and many have experienced years of trouble free performance after the first actuation. Some on the other hand suggest it was downhill and problems amplified to the point where the shutter died after a short time.

I purchased the D2h after reading Bjorn's review on his old site I came upon by accident over the holidays. I have 4 old Nikkor lenses with my FTN and thus thought it to be a good match for the D2h. I do not own any other lenses. These lenses have been converted to AI. Right now I am essentially capturing my family (mostly kids, activities and sports).

Any thoughts or comments from personal experience with this model? Thank you.

Paul

David H. Hartman

• NG Member
  • I Doctor Photographs... :)
Re: Nikon D2H
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2017, 06:16:42 »