Author Topic: Nikongear website  (Read 938 times)

Fons Baerken

  • NG Supporter
  • **
  • Posts: 7910
    • https://www.flickr.com/photos/fonsbaerken/
Nikongear website
« on: February 11, 2021, 15:40:20 »
Since this week i cannot access the NG website with my iphone anylonger, at one time a message read no network. I have cleared the phone browser from stored cookies etc, restarted etc but to no avail.

Bent Hjarbo

  • NG Supporter
  • **
  • Posts: 1743
  • Hvidovre, Denmark
    • Hjarbos hjemmeside
Re: Nikongear website
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2021, 17:02:13 »
Reading and writing this on my iPhone  ;)

Airy

  • NG Supporter
  • **
  • Posts: 2341
    • My pics repository
Re: Nikongear website
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2021, 17:25:26 »
Same here. iOS version ? Safari version ?
Airy Magnien

Fons Baerken

  • NG Supporter
  • **
  • Posts: 7910
    • https://www.flickr.com/photos/fonsbaerken/
Re: Nikongear website
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2021, 18:08:24 »
My iphone is not the latest, and am in need for a younger model, but I can access all other websites.

Fons Baerken

  • NG Supporter
  • **
  • Posts: 7910
    • https://www.flickr.com/photos/fonsbaerken/
Re: Nikongear website
« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2021, 19:46:54 »
I tried all the known options clearing data restarting but nikongear websitepage remains blank so my question is adressed to the web admin.

Birna Rørslett

  • Global Moderator
  • **
  • Posts: 3119
  • A lesser fierce bear of the North
Re: Nikongear website
« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2021, 20:25:06 »
I do have seen a blank page on occasion, but am none the wiser as to why. Maybe there are a given and rare combination of factors which prevents the web pages to load? At present I am just collecting data points here so grateful for any problem reports. Seen in various tested browsers as well. If one particular browser fails on a given set of hardware, all other browser candidates also fail. All other web sites seem to load normally. Courioser and courioser.

The issue apparently is of recent origin. That is all I can tell at this moment.

Fons Baerken

  • NG Supporter
  • **
  • Posts: 7910
    • https://www.flickr.com/photos/fonsbaerken/
Re: Nikongear website
« Reply #6 on: February 11, 2021, 20:53:19 »
Thank you Birna. So i will try the mind over matter reponse or else spend too much money on a new phone. ;)

Akira

  • Homo jezoensis
  • NG Supporter
  • **
  • Posts: 10487
  • Tokyo, Japan
Re: Nikongear website
« Reply #7 on: February 11, 2021, 20:55:42 »
I recently purchased iPhone SE 2nd gen with iOS 14.4.  It only displays the blank page as well.  Same thing with my 5th gen. iPad mini with iOS 14.4.

Accessing from my PC has no problem.
"The eye is blind if the mind is absent." - Confucius

"Limitation is inspiration." - Akira

Fons Baerken

  • NG Supporter
  • **
  • Posts: 7910
    • https://www.flickr.com/photos/fonsbaerken/
Re: Nikongear website
« Reply #8 on: February 11, 2021, 21:05:22 »
I recently purchased iPhone SE 2nd gen with iOS 14.4.  It only displays the blank page as well.  Same thing with my 5th gen. iPad mini with iOS 14.4.

Accessing from my PC has no problem.

So is it an ios/iphone issue only or do android phones show similar problems?

ColinM

  • NG Supporter
  • **
  • Posts: 1079
  • Bristol, UK
    • My Pictures
Re: Nikongear website
« Reply #9 on: February 11, 2021, 21:14:28 »
I logged in yesterday using my Android phone, but was then unable to access any of the normal pages.

I switched to desktop and it worked fine.

I've just tried it on my Android mobile just now (20:15 GMT 11Feb21) and I still can't get past the initial screen
By contrast I'm typing this on my Android tablet with no apparent issues.
Both Samsung hardware & Android o/s (diff versions)

Roland Vink

  • NG Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1328
  • Nikon Nerd from New Zealand
    • Nikon Database
Re: Nikongear website
« Reply #10 on: February 11, 2021, 21:17:02 »
I recently purchased iPhone SE 2nd gen with iOS 14.4.  It only displays the blank page as well.  Same thing with my 5th gen. iPad mini with iOS 14.4.

Accessing from my PC has no problem.
Same here - iPhone SE 2nd gen with iOS 14.4 displays a blank page using safari. No problem using Chrome from a PC or Safari on iMac (just had latest update, don't know which version).

Birna Rørslett

  • Global Moderator
  • **
  • Posts: 3119
  • A lesser fierce bear of the North
Re: Nikongear website
« Reply #11 on: February 11, 2021, 21:23:19 »
I'm beginning to suspect this is an issue with our https certificate. Another possibility is a bug in our SMF software, concerning a version inconsistency. I'll try to find out more.

Whatever the explanation, I'm pretty sure this is a novel issue of recent origin.

MEPER

  • NG Member
  • *
  • Posts: 643
  • You ARE NikonGear
Re: Nikongear website
« Reply #12 on: February 11, 2021, 22:40:38 »
From my PC at work I was not able to access NG. I could about 1 week ago.
I thought it was maybe a security issue. Often there is a bit more security at companies network than from private PC.
I could see the small NG logo at top bot got a blank page. Browser was Edge as I also use on private PC. But I think same issue using IE.

jag

  • NG Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • You ARE NikonGear
Re: Nikongear website
« Reply #13 on: February 11, 2021, 22:55:38 »
Testing with my iPhone 11 Max Pro, iOS 14.4 .
The front-page is just a blank page
http and https has similar problems with the front page (https://nikongear.net/revival/).
But if I enter the url of, a thread in the address bar (this thread), the page displays correctly.

/Jan

Birna Rørslett

  • Global Moderator
  • **
  • Posts: 3119
  • A lesser fierce bear of the North
Re: Nikongear website
« Reply #14 on: February 11, 2021, 23:07:42 »
There is embedded redirection to https for our web pages, so that similar resuts are obtained is what to expect. However, the other result you demonstrated might be helpful in order to track down the cause of the bug. I just verified the behaviour on a PC not willing to show anything ecpect a blank page, but displayed the site correctly once I added an expanded URL.