Author Topic: Using a Atomos Ninja 5” as a monitor for the Sony A7RiV  (Read 291 times)

Michael Erlewine

  • Close-Up Photographer
  • NG Supporter
  • **
  • Posts: 1691
  • Close-Up with APO
    • Spirit Grooves
Using a Atomos Ninja 5” as a monitor for the Sony A7RiV
« on: February 01, 2021, 23:41:22 »
Using a Atomos Ninja 5” as a monitor for the Sony A7RiV

 A problem that I have with the Sony A7rIV is the poor quality of the LCD monitor. So, here is a question: If I get an Atomos Ninja 5” monitor (and recorder) and use it as a monitor instead of the LCD, when I magnify the image for close focus on the A7RIV, will that magnification appear on the Ninja five?
MichaelErlewine.smugmug.com. Founder MacroStop.com, MichaelErlewine.com (articles), https://www.youtube.com/user/merlewine (video tutorials), All-Music Guide, All-Movie Guide, Classic Posters.com, Matrix Software, SpiritGrooves.net, DharmaGrooves.com

golunvolo

  • NG Supporter
  • **
  • Posts: 4311
  • You ARE NikonGear
Re: Using a Atomos Ninja 5” as a monitor for the Sony A7RiV
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2021, 23:52:46 »
If you duplicate the screen via hdmi probably yes. If you do clean output (as it usually is for video recording) then you can magnify by the atomos itself. No way to be sure until the manual and specifics for the A1 are public. Is it?

Michael Erlewine

  • Close-Up Photographer
  • NG Supporter
  • **
  • Posts: 1691
  • Close-Up with APO
    • Spirit Grooves
Re: Using a Atomos Ninja 5” as a monitor for the Sony A7RiV
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2021, 00:02:39 »
If you duplicate the screen via hdmi probably yes. If you do clean output (as it usually is for video recording) then you can magnify by the atomos itself. No way to be sure until the manual and specifics for the A1 are public. Is it?

Don't know, which is why I'm asking.
MichaelErlewine.smugmug.com. Founder MacroStop.com, MichaelErlewine.com (articles), https://www.youtube.com/user/merlewine (video tutorials), All-Music Guide, All-Movie Guide, Classic Posters.com, Matrix Software, SpiritGrooves.net, DharmaGrooves.com

golunvolo

  • NG Supporter
  • **
  • Posts: 4311
  • You ARE NikonGear
Re: Using a Atomos Ninja 5” as a monitor for the Sony A7RiV
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2021, 00:05:32 »
I just did a quick test with the ninja V and Z6 and you can, both in video and camera modes. If in photo shooting mode, it will duplicate what you see in the screen so you can magnify as much.
 It is not guaranteed a1 will be same but it is a good chance.

  You can use the focus and exposure assistant of the atomos as well

Michael Erlewine

  • Close-Up Photographer
  • NG Supporter
  • **
  • Posts: 1691
  • Close-Up with APO
    • Spirit Grooves
Re: Using a Atomos Ninja 5” as a monitor for the Sony A7RiV
« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2021, 00:12:44 »
I just did a quick test with the ninja V and Z6 and you can, both in video and camera modes. If in photo shooting mode, it will duplicate what you see in the screen so you can magnify as much.
 It is not guaranteed a1 will be same but it is a good chance.

  You can use the focus and exposure assistant of the atomos as well

I am talking about it working on the Sony A7RIV. Does it work on that?
MichaelErlewine.smugmug.com. Founder MacroStop.com, MichaelErlewine.com (articles), https://www.youtube.com/user/merlewine (video tutorials), All-Music Guide, All-Movie Guide, Classic Posters.com, Matrix Software, SpiritGrooves.net, DharmaGrooves.com

golunvolo

  • NG Supporter
  • **
  • Posts: 4311
  • You ARE NikonGear
Re: Using a Atomos Ninja 5” as a monitor for the Sony A7RiV
« Reply #5 on: February 02, 2021, 00:41:08 »
Same thing. I don´t own any Sony but it probably is the same. Just given you hope. Some with that machine can find a more specific answer.

Michael Erlewine

  • Close-Up Photographer
  • NG Supporter
  • **
  • Posts: 1691
  • Close-Up with APO
    • Spirit Grooves
Re: Using a Atomos Ninja 5” as a monitor for the Sony A7RiV
« Reply #6 on: February 02, 2021, 14:58:48 »
The reason I asked about this is that I did not have the Sony A7RIV, so could not experiment, nor the Atomos Ninja 5, so was looking for someone who was already doing this for answers. It seems for what answers I got here and elsewhere, plus articles I read, that it’s a lot of hassle to get a quality monitor to hang off the camera and then be able to magnify/de-magnify the image as I can do on my Nikon Z7/Z7 II or D850.

What I have come up with is to use the cameras I have and wait for Nikon to come up with something down the road that will fill the bill. I’m sure they will, in time.
MichaelErlewine.smugmug.com. Founder MacroStop.com, MichaelErlewine.com (articles), https://www.youtube.com/user/merlewine (video tutorials), All-Music Guide, All-Movie Guide, Classic Posters.com, Matrix Software, SpiritGrooves.net, DharmaGrooves.com

Akira

  • Homo jezoensis
  • NG Supporter
  • **
  • Posts: 10478
  • Tokyo, Japan
Re: Using a Atomos Ninja 5” as a monitor for the Sony A7RiV
« Reply #7 on: February 02, 2021, 15:31:04 »
One thing to keep in mind is that the HDMI connector of 7RIV puts out the 4k image at best which is 8MP.  Atmos Ninja V offers 2:1 mode which is 1/16 area of  the "4k" image from A7RIV, not the full 60MP image.  It would be good enough for the manual focus for the video but may not be good enough for the focus stacking.
"The eye is blind if the mind is absent." - Confucius

"Limitation is inspiration." - Akira

fentriss

  • NG Member
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • You ARE NikonGear
Re: Using a Atomos Ninja 5” as a monitor for the Sony A7RiV
« Reply #8 on: February 02, 2021, 18:34:45 »
Hello. Have got the Ninja V in use since 3 years now, together with the d850 on the "road", doing mostly architecture photography, street - cultural heritage objects, (PC-85 & PCe-19) One thing is really helpful, the monitor zoom option, it brings some more detail to the eyes, and the minotor is always free from the camera, not as static as the on-camera-display. But at home, the ninja display is really to small, and too expensive for that purposes, i would simply use some computer monitor (hdmi) for a perfect preview on screen, well, the camera slows down a little bit, which is not a problem when preparing the object - camera setup. For digitizing old photo prints, negatives, and other printed images. That works very well for me. If you want a perfect image, you really should go to rencay, digital-scanback. It offers +1240 megapixels, world best digital color rendering, not that typical Bayer system. Since you have not any moving objects, it will fit perfectly. You never need to upgrade for a better digital camera anymore, with better sensors every 4-5 years. Since you have got the maximum already, of-course you need a little bit more free time to get one single image. Unknown is, if somebody have already played with digital scanbacks together with stacking. ( https://www.rencay.com/en/rencay-products/products-rencay-scanbacks/)