Author Topic: Suggestion requested for Camera Body + Lens for travel/landscape photography  (Read 14665 times)

Anirban Halder

• NG Member
  • Minneapolis, USA
Question for experts/seniors. I’m an amateur photographer.  I occasionally take pictures. Mostly I shoot when I travel on a vacation (yearly once/twice). I currently have Nikon D200 + 18-200mm VR II + 50mm f1.8.
I’ve decided to upgrade my gear and here are the options I’ve come up with.

Option#1: D610 + Sigma 14mm f2.8 (Used) + Nikkor 24-120mm F4.

Option#2: D750 + Sigma 14mm f2.8 (Used) + Nikkor 24-120mm F4

Option#2: D7200 + Nikkor 10-24mm/Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8  + Nikkor 24-120mm F4

Notes:
- Why do I want to upgrade? - to take larger prints of my photos, faster AF, better wide-angle options for landscape, low light photography, less tripod usage.
- I mostly take landscape shots and I observed that focal length of all my fav compositions are within 18-120mm.
- I’m not into wildlife photography and I’m not looking for long end tele lens like 300mm.
- I like to travel light and I would like to minimize number of time I will have to switch lenses.

Question, for an amateur photographer will D750 make any difference over D610? I do take some shots in low light. For landscape/wide angle - should I even consider DX like D7200/D7100?
Is Nikkor 28-300mm a better option over 24-120mm F4 for travel/landscape? Does it provide similar results as 24-120mm F4?

Any other thoughts/suggestions most welcome. If this topic has been already discussed, please let me know the link. I will close this thread.
Anirban Halder

Jan Anne

• Noob
  • Global Moderator
  • Holland
    • Me on Flickr
Hi Anirban, please note that your favourite 18-120mm range on DX translates to 27-180mm on FX, so the 24-120mm would be too short on a D610 or D750.

As a prime shooter I know bupkis about mentioned zoomlenses but others should be more knowledgable about these lenses.

Welcome to NG btw :)
Cheers,
Jan Anne

Bjørn Rørslett