Author Topic: Using the Micro-Nikkor 105 f4 with the bellows 105mm f4  (Read 7213 times)

Bent Hjarbo

• NG Supporter
  • Hvidovre, Denmark
    • Hjarbos hjemmeside
Using the Micro-Nikkor 105 f4 with the bellows 105mm f4
« on: April 05, 2018, 20:48:23 »
When I bought a Nikon PB-4 bellow I also got the 105mm f4 bellows lens.
When searching for information for this lens on Bjørns legasy site I found that it should be good together with the normal Micro-Nikor 105 f4.
I then got the Micro-Nikkor, used, in not to good condition, but looking Richard Haws site I managed to fix it.
Now I had to search for a K3 ring, got a nice set yesterday, and start playing.
I am new to macro, but have been inspired by Michaels Erlewines very nice work, I am not in that league and is not going to invest as much in it, but try to get the best out of the few items I have.
Now to a question about this setup:
It seem to have pronounced field curvature, or at leat my setup has.
I have attached images of my simple setup, done my best to have the ruler parallel to the sensor, as can be seen the sides are not sharp.
I have also attached some more practical images to show the resolution I have at moment.
All taken with mirror-up, and the flowers with a wired remote. (MC-36)
Anyone with experience with this set-up?

Bjørn Rørslett

• Fierce Bear of the North
  • Administrator
  • Oslo, Norway
Re: Using the Micro-Nikkor 105 f4 with the bellows 105mm f4
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2018, 21:43:36 »
There is some curvature, yes. For stacking purposes shouldn't be a major problem.

Have you tried adding more extension to the host lens?

Been a while since I experimented with this setup, and that occurred mainly back in the film days. I might retrieve these lens components and try once the spring arrives over here.

Bent Hjarbo

• NG Supporter
  • Hvidovre, Denmark
    • Hjarbos hjemmeside
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2018, 21:47:31 »