Author Topic: SD card not recognized  (Read 4615 times)

charlie

• NG Member
SD card not recognized
« on: July 12, 2016, 21:23:55 »
I have a Sandisk Extreme Pro SDHC1 32GB card that I have been using in a D800 without problems for a few years now. As of yesterday my D800 does not recognize that it is installed. It doesn't claim that it's a corrupted, just doesn't even see it and acts as though no memory card is installed. Sure memory cards fail, but what seems odd is that it still works properly in multiple memory card readers as well as the SD port on my Macbook.

I tried another SD card in the D800 and it is recognized so the D800 seems to be working properly. I also tried the SD card in question in a Lumix camera and it does not work in there either. Formatted it using my computer and still nothing.

Why would the card work in a reader but not in a camera?

Frank Fremerey

• engineering art
  • NG Supporter
  • Bonn, Germany
Re: SD card not recognized
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2016, 21:28:31 »
all contacts clean and clear?
You are out there. You and your camera. You can shoot or not shoot as you please. Discover the world, Your world. Show it to us. Or we might never see it.

Me: https://youpic.com/photographer/frankfremerey/

elsa hoffmann

• NG Member
  • Cape Town, South Africa
    • Elsa Hoffmann
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2016, 21:46:19 »
Good thing is stopped recognising it BEFORE storing photos on there..
In SA (I believe) you have a life time guarantee on the cards - hopefully you can get it swapped out.
"You don’t take a photograph – you make it” – Ansel Adams. Thats why I use photoshop.
www.phototourscapetown.com
www.elsa.co.za. www.intimateimages.co.za

charlie

• NG Member
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2016, 22:22:39 »
All contacts are clean.

The photos remained on the card fully accessible from both a Mac & Windows machine via card reader, its just the camera can not see it.

I'll look into the lifetime guarantee here, thanks for the heads up.

Bjørn Rørslett