Author Topic: nikon 75-150 f/3.5 series E  (Read 7698 times)

tdoan

• NG Member
  • From the land of Happiness
nikon 75-150 f/3.5 series E
« on: June 30, 2016, 19:42:28 »
A little preface:  I am just starting out with Nikon dslr, coming from Canon.  With my d7200, I'm looking for something like my canon 70-210 f4, sharp, fast enough for the indoor pool that my kids compete at, and at ~500g light enough to be carried all day (it's no good if you always leave it at home b/c it's too heavy to be lugged around).  When I scour the Nikon lineup, I found nothing that would fit the bill:  the af nikon 70-210 f4 is no good by most reviews, the af 80-200 and the 70-200 f4 are easily 300g more (please jump in and correct me everyone :) )

Through Bjorn's lens reviews, I found the 75-150 and the 70-210 e series and they look like they would fit my requirements so I began to scour ebay.  When an excellent condition 75-150 popped up for $65, what is there to wait for? :)  If it doesn't work out, I'll make a mug out of it :D

The lens was supposed to come next Wednesday according to the listing but when I got home yesterday, there it was waiting for me.  Holy smoke batman!!  Excited didn't even begin to describe it... Even though I had lunch at 11 and was starved when I got home, I didn't have dinner until almost 9.

This is a later generation version with the chrome ring.  The lens is known to have zoom creep but for my lens, it got .. lens diarrhea ??  Tilting in any direction and Newton and his apple would come into play.  Since I'm no Rick Haw and just happened to have an inch of electrical tape around, the lens was cure in no time flat.  Now, pointing it straight down and the lens will still stay while remaining silky smooth to zoom.  The only thing I need to remember is not to leave the lens baking in the sun or things could get ugly :)