Author Topic: VR Questions...  (Read 3280 times)

David H. Hartman

• NG Member
  • I Doctor Photographs... :)
VR Questions...
« on: May 12, 2016, 23:53:05 »
I have a new AF-S 105/2.8G ED VR Micro-Nikkor. Yes I know it's not a Voigtlander 125mm f2.5 Apo-Lanthar. Please send FREE money. :)

Sorry

I'm new to VR though I've been reading. I'm where is the...

1) Crossover for no/off for shutter speed for general Photoshop.
2) Point where VR is no longer use in regard to image scale, e.g. 1/4x, 1/3x, 1/2x.
3) Point in image scale where VR should be turned off.

I said I'm new to VR but I've used a friend's AF-S 16-85/3.5-5.6G ED VR DX, etc. for close-up. I've never own a VR lens before.

Thanks!

Dave
Beatniks are out to make it rich
Oh no, must be the season of the witch!

Jan Anne

• Noob
  • Global Moderator
  • Holland
    • Me on Flickr
Re: VR Questions...
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2016, 00:46:56 »
Regardless of what Nikon is saying about VR don't use it on a tripod and turn VR off when out of focus objects double them selves in the background.

For the rest don't overthink the use of VR  ;D ;D
Cheers,
Jan Anne

the solitaire

• NG Member
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2016, 09:19:01 »
I mostly use the VR function on the 105 f2,8G VR when handholding the lens at speeds down to 1/30th. Anything faster then 1/500th I no longer see the need for VR.
On a tripod VR is better switched off. As for close up work, I had some good results with VR switched on up to about 0,5m. Anything closer and I was no longe able to tell whether motion blur was caused by VR or by me, so I usually switch VR off and limit the possible causes to user error ;)
Buddy

David H. Hartman

• NG Member
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2016, 12:39:12 »
...and turn VR off when out of focus objects double them selves in the background.

Does something go wrong when the background blurring gets strong? Does VR go nuts or just give up? I had hoped VR would work using the in focus areas of the image.