Author Topic: Micro this or micro that?  (Read 9987 times)

Billie Jean

• NG Member
  • Belgrade, Serbia
Micro this or micro that?
« on: March 30, 2016, 15:53:27 »
Hello all,

I am a beginner in close-up photography and I have an opportunity to acquire one of these two lenses:

AF-S DX Micro NIKKOR 40mm f/2.8G
or
Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/4

What are your thoughts?
And before you decide, you should know a few things...I have Nikon D60 and I don't really care about autofocus. The only thing I think about is how to take a photo as close as possible :)

Can you help me decide between these two lenses? :)
Ana Stojanović

Erik Lund

• Global Moderator
  • Copenhagen
    • ErikLund.com
Re: Micro this or micro that?
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2016, 16:01:49 »
The Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/4 is a true classic and an all round lens, you will find many images here are made with it.

It also takes extension rings very well, most new lenses have IF internal focusing like the 40mm, 60mm or 80mm AFS or later 105mm 2.8 Ais and AF-D and AFS that gives you a little better performance over the whole focus range but they loose working distance really quickly when you focus close-up.

You can't go wrong with Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/4 The nicest version is the Ais, but same optics as AI
Erik Lund

Bjørn Rørslett

• Fierce Bear of the North
  • Administrator
  • Oslo, Norway
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2016, 16:04:41 »
Nothing wrong with the 105/4 at all, it is a wonderful lens and a timeless classic Nikkor. However, given she has the D60, the nod goes to the 40 mm f/2.8 DX Micro-Nikkor. It is light weight and very sharp. The 40 G will be fully compatible with this camera.

You will not get metering with the 105/4 on a D60 unless it is CPU-modified, and it goes to 1:2 on its own, to 1:1 with the PN-11 extension tube. The 40 G goes to 1:1 on its own and no additional extension is required.

richardHaw

• Cute Panda from the East...
  • NG Supporter
  • Your lens loverboy