Author Topic: D200  (Read 2429 times)

benzen

• NG Member
  • You ARE NikonGear
D200
« on: January 04, 2018, 01:37:49 »
I know this camera is "old hat" for the majority of forum members and have long since moved on. I am new to photography and this is my tool for now. I have a 35mm DX to go with it. My question is regarding how to set the camera up. I am beginning to understand the relationship between the aperture, shutter speed and ISO. In "optimize image" I am starting in "normal". I assume the only way to determine an individual's preferences is to shoot under all menu items and see if I can figure through the differences. There are a lot of options....JPEG compression, high ISO noise reduction, color space. I will shoot a fair amount in black and white as well. Custom menu settings. Your thoughts on auto focus options and metering/ exposure options? I find it hard to manually focus this lens. I do not have young eyes so a bit of a challenge. I plan to start out shooting jpeg only. I know nothing about processing a photo but it will be somethings I will learn down the road. For now, it is a matter of setting up the camera and learning the "triangle" relationship as I am taking photographs. Thanks to all who offered help in the introduction page.

Ben

Seapy

• NG Member
Re: D200
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2018, 02:20:13 »
Regarding focus there is a little green focus confirmation indicator at the bottom left which I rely on, also you can adjust the ocular (viewfinder focus) for your personal eyesight.

As has been pointed out previously for practical DAY TO Day regard ISO 400 as the upper limit, that said I have some lovely images exposed way above that notional limit.

I still have two D200's for UV and IR respectively, they produce perfectly acceptable, even excellent results, I only relinquished mine when I got my D3 and D300S, I didn't need three bodies.