Author Topic: Hello from Detroit, Michigan USA  (Read 2375 times)

Nick Scavone

• NG Member
    • Nick Scavone Photography
Hello from Detroit, Michigan USA
« on: July 13, 2015, 03:01:28 »
When not working (I am a commercial real estate attorney) or golfing, I spend much of my time with landscape, architecture and travel photography, and photographing my family. I am a student of the craft (the books of Ansel Adams and John Shaw were particularly helpful), an admirer of fine art photography, and also an avid collector of fine art photography books.

I began my photography with a Canon film Rebel SLR body (perhaps a film point and shoot before that). My digital photography began with a Nikon 5700. I then made the progression with DSLRs from D70 to D200 to D700 to D800 and recently upgraded to the D810 (the D810 is a remarkable camera, much better than the D800 in my view). I have collected a number of Nikkor SLR lenses over the years, including many of the classic Nikkors. My lens choices have been guided based in large part on Bjorn's excellent and comprehensive original website with the famed reviews and "best of them all," but also his more recent posts/reviews on fotozones and advise of others including Thom Hogan and Lloyd Chambers. I now also have many of the latest G lenses.

I was a nikongear.com member, and am thrilled to see its revival here (I was sorry to see the decline of fotozones and curious why I saw no recent posts from Bjorn on fotozones--this website explains much). I have followed Bjorn for many years (thank you for inspiring me Bjorn), and now many others as well (Erik Lund, Michael Erlewine, Stren, Andrea and others). I am excited about the prospects for this site, and hope to contribute more.

You can see some of my work on my Zenfolio site in the Public Folder -- http://nickscavone.zenfolio.com/

Cheers,

Nick Scavone
Detroit, Michigan USA

Gary

• NG Member
  • Southern California
    • Snaps
Re: Hello from Detroit, Michigan USA