Author Topic: Big Eyes  (Read 5866 times)

Eb

• NG Member
    • pbase.com/emueller
Big Eyes
« on: September 20, 2015, 07:19:36 »
I have been sitting on images of captive owls for a few years.  At the time, I had decided to try a shallow dof, obviously to rid myself of background but also for selective focus closeup portraits.  My idea was to render only the leading feathers, beak and eyes in a sharp plane.  It appears that I misjudged dof, and in many samples I did not get the eyes sharp enough.  Sometimes I was able to focus stack a second shot in the burst which may have gotten more of the eyes sharp.  OK, so more than a few were usable and achieved what I wanted!  But, what to do with these, since it appears that wildlife (even if captive) taken in selective focus is likely not to anyone's taste.

A few days ago, I was inspired to try a black and white, high key approach, thus taking the subject matter into a territory not typical for birds.  Please let me know your response to viewing these.

1, Barn Owl.  I think this one works the best with the strongly outlined face and the big eyes.

2, Great Horned Owl

3, Great Horned Owl profile

4, Barred Owl

5, Northern Pygmy Owl, likely the least successful for this treatment, and a bedraggled bird indeed.

6, Great Horned - alternative softer treatment but with the big eyes look, in comparison to #2

Eb Mueller
British Columbia, Canada
http://www.pbase.com/emueller

elsa hoffmann

• NG Member
  • Cape Town, South Africa
    • Elsa Hoffmann
Re: Big Eyes
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2015, 08:19:52 »
nice and soft on the eye - creates a good series for me.
In some of them I think the eyes could be a tad more contrasty (dark) but probably not so easy if you want to keep a good high key balance.

I agree this will not be to everyone's taste - But I think you got what you wanted to create. Thats the important part.
"You don’t take a photograph – you make it” – Ansel Adams. Thats why I use photoshop.