Author Topic: From the Depths of SoCal  (Read 2065 times)

Icandide

• NG Member
  • You ARE NikonGear
From the Depths of SoCal
« on: March 27, 2022, 13:35:46 »
Hi,

I'm not good at self introductions. Am I overstating it?

My name is Earl Roach. That's Earl as in the duke of... (Don't call me sir. I'm only an Earl!), and Roach like the bug (or a fish, or the burnt end of a joint).

All kidding aside...

Since 18 years of my Air Force career was overseas, I found that many, many languages do not have the phonetics to pronounce my first name, so at times I'm known as Tony. (A name me given by the lead monk (abbot ?) of the Wat Okahd at Nakorn Phanom, Thailand)

I use a Nikon only for film. I currently have an F3HP and an FM2n. All my lenses are AI-s. 35-70 f3.5, 35-105 f3.5-4.5, 50 f1.4, 55 f2.8, and 75-150 f3.5 E-Series. I also shoot 135 with a Canon FTb, Petri 7S and a Zorki 4K.

I also shoot medium format with a Mamiya RB 67 S (and am in the market for a Mamiya Press Universal when funds become available); and large format with an Omega (Toyo) 45D View, a Toyo 45A Field and a Super Speed Graphic 4x5.

I live in a suburb of Los Angeles (but not in LA County) in Sunny California, am retired Air Force Non-Comm and Civilian Security Manager, and a widower.

My first camera was bought in 1970. A Petri 7S. Then about 6 months later I bought a Canon SLR. Canon was my major use camera ( Pellex, F1, FTb) until in 1997 (or was it 1998 - 9?), when a friend decided to sell his Nikon system for a very reasonable price (He decided to go AF Nikon). I bought it. The F3HP. (Some of my best photos were shot with it. Love it.)

Digital shooting is strictly with Canon. An A630 point and shoot and a 5D III and 6D II. (I love Canon Digital)

I taught Monochrome darkroom processing and printing (in the 1970's) and shot weddings and quinceañeras (a latino traditional 'coming out' for 15 year old señoritas) in the early 2000's).