Author Topic: The Df Revival  (Read 73893 times)

Jakov Minić

• Jakov Minic
  • Global Moderator
  • The Hague, The Netherlands
    • Jakov Minić
The Df Revival
« on: July 23, 2015, 11:40:30 »
Dear NG friends,

In order to make a complete revival I am of the opinion that a dedicated Df thread should exist within our community.
Mind you I am not a real expert on cameras and I have never done a review of one, but that doesn't mean that I cannot share my experience with you. And, I urge you all to share your thoughts with the NG community :)

I have been using the camera for about 18 months now and I love it. What is it that I like about the Df:

- It made me use manual focus lenses that I rarely used on my previous DSLRs. Manual focussing became a breeze;
- The high ISO capabilities of the Df surpassed all my previous cameras and shooting at 12800 ISO has become a normality and I still cannot figure out how there is practically no noise at such ISO;
- The commands are something to get used to, but when you do, it's a true joy to turn those wheels;
- The looks, well, my panda is so cool.

Things that I would like to see improved with the next version:

- The grip, it's less comfortable in the hands, and still am getting used to it (probably spoiled by the D4);
- The autofocus, and the spread of autofocus points (again probably spoiled by the D4 and spread on a D300).

Attached is a photo that was made during our last get together in Slovenia as an illustration, Df+PN-11+180/2.8

Thanks, Jakov

Free your mind and your ass will follow. - George Clinton
Before I jump like monkey give me banana. - Fela Kuti
Confidence is what you have before you understand the problem. - Woody Allen

tommiejeep

• NG Member
  • Look for the light
    • Nikonians
Re: The Df Revival
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2015, 15:41:35 »