Author Topic: Greetz from Asia  (Read 1664 times)

Toby

• NG Member
  • You ARE NikonGear
    • Toby Marshall
Greetz from Asia
« on: June 15, 2018, 03:51:48 »
Hi folks,
My day job is as videographer for German TV in East Asia, but my passion is still photography. I’ve been using Nikon gear since 1967, and have a bunch of old Nikkors. Recently I decided to sink a lot of money into vintage lenses, including some of the rare industrial Nikkors. On that score I have the Repro-Nikkor 85mm f1.0, Apo EL Nikkor 105 f5.6, 2x CRT Nikkor-O 55mmf1.2s (both the 7xxx and 8xxx series) and a lovely UMN 165mm f4.0 beast. I also have the CV Apo Lanthar 105 and a slew of other strange lenses that I use for their bokeh renderings. Unfortunately my Nikon D800e was stolen and I grudgingly replaced it with a Sony A7RII for the flange distance advantages. Looking forward to participating here.

tommiejeep

• NG Member
  • Look for the light
    • Nikonians
Re: Greetz from Asia
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2018, 04:09:23 »
Toby, welcome aboard.  With that collection of lenses you should be right at home here  :) .  I bought my first Nikkormat at the old China Fleet Club in Hong Kong in 1968 but could only afford a 50mm.  How do you find the IQ with the lenses on the a7rii compared to the D800e?  Sensor should not be a big deal but how do the cameras (Nikon vs Sony) treat the images.  I use a7rii and a7iii (just received) but mostly with Ais, Ai and D lenses and dumb adapter.   Not having aperture rings on G lenses is a pain.   I still prefer the images coming from the Nikons, more pleasing to me, than the Sony's and require less work. I have really never shot Vids.
All the best and I look forward to some images  :)
Tom
Tom Hardin, Goa, India

Frank Fremerey

• engineering art
  • NG Supporter
  • Bonn, Germany
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2018, 05:53:56 »
with that special taste in lenses money does not seem the biggest of issues for you. Did you try the D850, esp with the magic 1.4/58G?