Author Topic: DSLR and ancient macro lens  (Read 2194 times)

Torbjørn

• NG Member
  • You ARE NikonGear
DSLR and ancient macro lens
« on: April 20, 2018, 16:46:05 »
I started photographing just a couple of months ago, and found macro photography to be both interesting and fascinating. Bought a used Niok D3300 and since I couldn't afford a macro lens younger than myself I ended up buying a Nikon Micro-NIKKOR 55mm f/3.5 from 1969. :-D I use this with both extension tubes and a bellow. There has been a lot of experimenting and mumbling over unknown words like ISO, f-stop, DOF and many other words that at first gave no meaning. I know what some of them mean now. :-P

But as a new photographer I'm very unsure about the results I'm getting, so here are some examples from a walk i the local botanical garden yesterday. Great weather but a bit windy. Most of the flowers were unwilling to keep still and in the frame for more than a few milliseconds. :-D Please give me some feedback, tips, critique and advice.

Bent Hjarbo

• NG Supporter
  • Hvidovre, Denmark
    • Hjarbos hjemmeside
Re: DSLR and ancient macro lens
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2018, 19:12:27 »
I am sure will give you a lot of tips, to me it looks as if you have done this for years ;)

Jack Dahlgren

• NG Member
  • You ARE NikonGear
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2018, 19:28:04 »
Looks like you are getting the basics right. Just keep working at it.
Several people in this group do advance techniques such as stacking multiple images to obtain extreme depth of field and you can learn a lot from them.

One thing to consider about macro photography is the subject matter and what you are trying to show.
For some people it is a technical exercise. Others are wanting to illustrate something beyond what the naked eye can see. I struggle to find a reason to do very much of this sort of work. 

beryllium10

• NG Member
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2018, 17:13:03 »