Author Topic: Viewnx 2 not compatable files help please  (Read 3227 times)

murdo1344

• NG Member
  • You ARE NikonGear
Viewnx 2 not compatable files help please
« on: June 14, 2017, 21:34:47 »
Hi can someone help please? I have been using View NX 2 for a couple of years with no problems. Today i was sorting out some files when the programme stopped and said error. When i went to look at my files again 15 out of the 30 were not visible as thumbnails and when i click on they it says they are unsupported files. I tried opening in bridge but just the same message. The screen shot shows what is on my screen, the edge of one of the ok files is on the bottom RHS.
Thank you

murdo1344

• NG Member
  • You ARE NikonGear
Re: Viewnx 2 not compatable files help please
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2017, 21:35:53 »
file now

Bjørn Rørslett

• Fierce Bear of the North
  • Administrator
  • Oslo, Norway
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2017, 23:38:27 »
First, move the 'good' files to a safe location. Then, try to download all files from you camera again. You might have encountered a communication glitch (bit error). Before doing the download, check that all cable connections are securely in position and if the same error(s) occur again, try another cable.

Using a card reader is often the safer and better method for transferring files to your computer.

Bjørn Rørslett

• Fierce Bear of the North
  • Administrator
  • Oslo, Norway
« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2017, 00:01:47 »
A final point to observe is you might have your computer hard drive beginning to develop bit errors. At least run a CHKDSK or equivalent action on it.

With today's trend of  ever increasing disk sizes, the risk of bit errors unfortunately also grows. Even a quite new disk can get into such trouble. Do pay attention to the need for backup of important files.

David H. Hartman

• NG Member
  • I Doctor Photographs... :)
« Reply #4 on: June 15, 2017, 06:52:53 »