Author Topic: Walking with dinosaurs -one of the very first DSLR's  (Read 4035 times)

lyndon.photo

• NG Member
  • Old Nikons keep me poor and the wife unhappy...
Walking with dinosaurs -one of the very first DSLR's
« on: April 13, 2017, 18:07:20 »
G'Day,

been lurking for some time, and I think its time to step up to the plate and start sharing some stuff with fellow Nikon tragics.

I'm a Press Photographer in Australia, and to keep myself poor, and my wife unhappy, I collect Nikons (and press related photographic ephemera...)

I also think that sharing information and knowledge is critical to our joint interest.

So I thought I might start with sharing a new purchase which was exciting for me and also one of the very first digital cameras ever made.

A little history:

Jim McGarvey from Kodak had in 1988 created the very first DSLR in 1988 (yes he is actually the father of the modern digital camera...), a single "Electro-Optic Camera" based on a Canon F1 for a US Government customer.
In the same year he then built two "Tactical Camera EO" cameras for demonstration to government agencies. Again based on the Canon F1 body.

Sensibly changing to Nikon (well I would say that) for the base bodies Jim and his team then started taking the next serious steps towards developing a digital camera that could end up as a saleable commercial reality. The Hawkeye ii was that next step.

From what I understand the Hawkeye ii cameras were initially produced for use and testing by various American government agencies, ranging from the Defence forces through to Nasa and the CIA (among others).
In essence this small batch of cameras were effectively the prototypes for the Kodak DCS 100 cameras some 2 years later, the DCS 100 was effectively the first ever digital DSLR camera sold to the market.

I was extremely lucky to obtain a Kodak Hawkeye ii a few months ago. I didnt think I would ever get to see one let alone own one...