Author Topic: Printing B&W Images  (Read 2121 times)

ArthurDent

• NG Member
  • You ARE NikonGear
Printing B&W Images
« on: August 21, 2017, 17:12:41 »
I have a couple of B&Ws  I would like to print. My reading indicates that just changing to a dot/inch setting of 300 won't result in a very good print. The author I read states that most printers don't handle B&W well because they only have  a black cartridge and there are 256 possible shades from pure white to pure black to print. One possible solution was stated to be to convert the image to a duotone. I have  no experience printing my images, let alone printing them in B&W.  I have no experience with duotones. I would appreciate any guidance you might care to offer. Thanks in advance. As an alternative, can you suggest a printer that does a good job on black and white images? It would be a simple thing to send the file to them to print and not have to worry about the rest, at least for the moment.
AD   

HCS

• NG Supporter
  • The Netherlands
Re: Printing B&W Images
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2017, 21:25:58 »
I have a couple of B&Ws  I would like to print. My reading indicates that just changing to a dot/inch setting of 300 won't result in a very good print. The author I read states that most printers don't handle B&W well because they only have  a black cartridge and there are 256 possible shades from pure white to pure black to print. One possible solution was stated to be to convert the image to a duotone. I have  no experience printing my images, let alone printing them in B&W.  I have no experience with duotones. I would appreciate any guidance you might care to offer. Thanks in advance. As an alternative, can you suggest a printer that does a good job on black and white images? It would be a simple thing to send the file to them to print and not have to worry about the rest, at least for the moment.
AD