Author Topic: Windows 10 will not boot.  (Read 8717 times)

BEZ

• NG Member
  • RC51
Windows 10 will not boot.
« on: September 20, 2015, 20:31:31 »
Hello,
I am working away (hence lack of activity here) and my Wi-Fi is located in the pub, it has it's good points but is far from convenient :-)

My pub computer is a Dell 11" XPS which started playing up the other night with issues including an unwanted language change. Out of convenience I let Windows perform a system reset which worked except three items needed to be manually loaded and it placed a list on my desktop, short of time I decided to deal with them later.

Unfortunately it now will not boot ...I made a Windows 10 USB ISO (UEFI) but it does not boot from that also.  I have no experience with UEFI so am unable to change the boot order to USB as you would with BIOS.
All I can access is F2 set up and F12 boot settings on a UEFI system.

I know this is not the forum but it is the only one I look at, and I know there are some computer geeks out there.

Anyone help out?

Cheers
Bez

Bez

Bjørn Rørslett

• Fierce Bear of the North
  • Administrator
  • Oslo, Norway
Re: Windows 10 will not boot.
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2015, 21:04:38 »
Oh dear. Hopefully you have tested already that the USB medium *is* bootable.

To get into the USB boot, turn the machine off, then plug in the bootable USB stick, start the machine and press F12. Hopefully the USB boot option now becomes available.

Frank Fremerey

• engineering art
  • NG Supporter
  • Bonn, Germany
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2015, 23:12:56 »
Hi BEZ.

I am sure you have to decide UEFI or BIOS before installing Windows.

Windows will then setup accordingly. You cannot change horses in mid race. That will not work.

It is quite similar to AHCI or not in earlier BIOS versions, before UEFI came along.

So get your Firmware mode back to the state Windows was installed in and it should boot right away

Frank